CHICAGO – Standing outside the Harold Washington Library, U.S. Rep. Danny Davis (IL-07) on Monday announced his endorsement of Cook County Commissioner Brandon Johnson for mayor of Chicago, joining his Congressional colleagues Rep. Jonathan Jackson and Rep. Delia Ramirez in backing Johnson’s surging campaign. 

Commissioner Johnson’s campaign has picked up major momentum since qualifying for the mayoral run-off election last Tuesday, earning the backing of the Chicago National Organization of Women, Our Revolution, and the 47th Ward and 49th Ward Democrat organizations. Since its inception, Johnson’s campaign has garnered significant support from a diverse coalition of community leaders, elected officials, and grassroots organizations.

“I am proud to endorse Brandon Johnson for mayor of Chicago,” Rep. Davis said. “Brandon has a proven track record of fighting for working families and standing up to powerful interests. He has been a champion for education, affordable housing, and economic justice, and I know that he will bring that same commitment to the mayor’s office.”

Commissioner Johnson has been a vocal advocate for progressive policies throughout his career, and is running for mayor on a platform that includes a range of bold proposals, including expanding affordable housing, investing in public transit, and supporting small businesses.

“I am honored to receive Rep. Davis’s endorsement,” Commissioner Johnson said. “He is a pioneer of the progressive movement, and strong supporter of working families and communities, and I am proud to stand alongside him in the fight for a more just and equitable Chicago. Together, we can build a city that works for all of us.”

The endorsement from Rep. Davis adds to a growing list of supporters for Johnson’s campaign, which has gained momentum in recent weeks: Johnson has been endorsed by unions, community organizations and elected leaders throughout Chicago, including U.S. Reps Delia Ramirez and Jonathan Jackson; Illinois state representatives Mary Flowers, Lilian Jimenez, Lakesia Collins and Will Guzzardi; Illinois state senators Omar Aquino, Cristina Pacione-Zayas and Robert Peters; Cook County commissioners Monica Gordon, Bill Lowry, Stanley Moore, Anthony Quezada and Josina Morita; Alderpeople Matt Martin, Daniel LaSpata, Pat Dowell, Jeanette Taylor, Byron Sigcho-Lopez, Rossana Rodríguez-Sanchez, Andre Vasquez and Carlos Ramirez-Rosa; the American Federation of Teachers, Illinois Federation of Teachers, Chicago Teachers Union, SEIU Local 73, SEIU Healthcare, Cook County College Teachers Union, West Suburban Teachers Union Local 571 and AFT Local 943; and United Working Families, People United for Action, United Northwest Side, ONE People’s Campaign, Chicago NOW PAC, 11th Ward IPO, 25th Ward IPO, 30th United Chicago, 33rd Ward Working Families, 39th Ward Neighbors United, United Neighbors of the 35th ward, 38th Ward Democratic Organization, 40th Ward Democrats, 47th Ward Democrats, 48th Ward Neighbors for Justice, Network 49, Better Streets Chicago Action Fund, Chicago Sunrise Movement, Independent Voters of Illinois IPO, and more.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content