The Mayor's Transition Team

Mayor Emanuel meets with new transition team.
Mayor Emanuel meets with new transition team.

It was  a grueling  campaign wrought with battle after battle. After failing to win the election and going for the last round to the election run-off  the people spoke and the Mayor is in for a second term. With the election and run-off behind him  Mayor Rahm Emanuel chose a transition team of those  with familiar names, including Chicago Transit Authority President Forrest Claypool and businessman Michael Sacks.

Sarah Pang, senior vice president at CNA insurance, leads the dozen members as transition chair. Pang served on Emanuel’s first transition team in 2011 and as former Mayor Richard M. Daley’s first deputy chief of staff. David Spielfogel, a top aide to the mayor, will serve as transition director.

According to a news release, “issues to be examined by the team and discussed with residents could include expanding full-day pre-k, driving economic growth in our neighborhoods, strengthening neighborhood schools, establishing core protections for working families, expanding investment in public transit, and improving police and community relationships.”

The transition team members are:

. Sarah Pang, Transition Chair; Senior Vice President, CNA Insurance
. Frank Clark, President, Business Leadership Council
. Forrest Claypool, President, Chicago Transit Authority
. Gillian Darlow, Chief Executive Officer, Polk Bros. Foundation
. Deborah Graham, Alderman, 29th Ward
. Sol Flores, Executive Director, La Casa Norte
. Dorri McWhorter, Chief Executive Officer, YWCA Metropolitan Chicago
. David Munar, President and CEO, Howard Brown Health Center
. Jorge Ramirez, President, Chicago Federation of Labor
. Juan Salgado, President and CEO, Instituto del Progreso Latino
. Michael Sacks, Vice Chair, World Business Chicago


From the Web