Carolyn Palmer’s Around Town – Who’s Who in Chicago 2019


The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. is a non-profit volunteer organization for African American women. The members address common issues in their communities, families and personal lives, promoting gender and racial equity.

The NCBW is in the process of activating a chapter in the Chicagoland Area. NCBW National President Virginia Harris and National Third Vice-President Elizabeth Jones along with Dreema Lee Woldman, met recently with women of interest and will be conducting a search for more prospective members.

Please visit the NCBW website for more information.

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Chicagoland Chapters celebrated Founders Day and 97 years of Service with Ryan Chiaverini and Val Warner at Windy City Live (sitting middle), WLS-TV.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Xi Nu Omega Chapter 2019 Monarch Award recipients: Dr. Marlon Haywood, Public Service; Mr. Edward Calahan, Philanthropy; Pastor James Ford, Jr., Religion; Mr. Royce Darcell Banks, Fine Arts; Dr. Tamiko Lowery Jones, 2019 Monarch Awards Gala Chairman; Ms. Patricia Y. Smith, President, Monarch Awards Foundation, Inc.; Mr. Kendal Parker, Education; Mr. Michael Cross, Jr. Outstanding Youth; Mr. John Griffin, Jr., Business; Mr. Tim Kincaid, Law; Dr. Eric Floyd, Medicine.

Christian Farr of NBC-5 served as the Master of Ceremonies. Gallery Guichard owners, Andre and Frances Guichard were sponsors and provided a “Pop Up Art Gallery”. The event was held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Photo by: Leathia Brady Rhodes.

Xi Nu Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Gala Committee members for the 2019 Monarch. Photo by: Leathia Brady Rhodes.

Congratulations to Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Rho Gamma Gamma Chapter on their Founder’s Day Worship Service. Special recognition to Omega Ken Johnson, on being presented the “2019 Omega Man of the Year”.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content