Mayor Lightfoot and CPS Celebrate Neighborhood School Prescott Elementary Being Named Among Best in the Nation

Prescott Elementary School One of Only 16 Public Schools in Illinois to Receive National Blue Ribbon Recognition from U.S. Department of Education

Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot and CPS CEO Dr. Janice K. Jackson today recognized Prescott Elementary for being named a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School, which is a prestigious national recognition from the U.S. Department of Education. Prescott Elementary, a neighborhood school serving students in the Lincoln Park community, is one of only 16public schools in Illinois and 312 public schools nationwide to be honored this year. 

“Chicago students continue to make record unprecedented academic strides in the classroom, and I am proud to celebrate Prescott Elementary’s recognition as one of the best schools in the nation,” said Mayor Lightfoot. “An accomplishment like this does not happen by coincidence—it is the culmination of years of hard work from the entire school community whose efforts have set high standards of academic excellence and prove that neighborhood schools are vital to creating lifelong learners.”

“With CPS continuing to lead the nation in academic growth, it is exciting, but not surprising, that one of our neighborhood schools is being honored as one of the best schools in the country,” said CPS CEO Dr. Janice K. Jackson. “Congratulations to Principal Roche and Prescott’s dedicated educators, families and hardworking students on this incredible achievement.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are leading the nation in student performance or student growth. Prescott is receiving the honor in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category for testing in the top 15 percent of all schools in Illinois, achieving high performance among key subgroups and completing a rigorous application process that evaluated everything from social and emotional learning supports to professional development and quality classroom instruction.

“For over a decade, CPS has been recognized every year through the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and we are proud of the Prescott school community for being named among the best schools in the country for 2019,” said CPS Chief Education Officer LaTanya D. McDade.

A neighborhood elementary school in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood, Prescott Elementary serves nearly 500 students between kindergarten and eighth grade. Students are exposed to a rigorous curriculum that focuses on inquiry-based and accelerated science, math and English learning as well as a strong focus on social and emotional learning. At the heart of Prescott’s mission is for students to take intellectual risks through rich academic experiences that are tailored to individual needs, which the school provides through its dedicated educators, which include many Nationally Board Certified Teachers, a Golden Apple Award winner, and an Illinois Science Teacher Association Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

“Receiving the National Blue Ribbon Award is a testament to the hard work of our dedicated teachers, staff, families and students at Prescott,” said Prescott Principal Dr. Erin Roche. “Through our passionate teachers, our rigorous, inquiry-focused curriculum, and strong community support, we will continue our commitment to academic excellence so that all of our students can develop an enthusiasm for life-long learning.”

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 9,000 schools. In November, representatives from Prescott will attend an award ceremony in Washington, D.C., to recognize and celebrate the school’s hard-earned accomplishment. 

Previous National Blue Ribbon Schools from CPS include:

Gwendolyn Brooks College Prep, 2018
Edison Regional Gifted Center, 2018
Edgar Allan Poe Classical School, 2017
Hannah G. Solomon Elementary School, 2017
Skinner North Elementary, 2016
LaSalle Language Academy, 2015
Payton College Prep, 2014 and 2008
Frazier International Magnet School, 2013
Skinner West Elementary, 2013
Jones College Prep, 2012 and 2006
Lane Tech College Prep, 2012
Audubon Elementary School, 2011
Northside College Prep, 2011
Jackson Language Academy, 2010
Whitney Young Magnet High School, 2009
Robert A. Black Magnet Elementary, 2008
Horace Greeley Elementary, 2007

Chicago Public Schools serves 361,000 students in 644 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.


From the Web