The highest honors at this year’s Soul Train Music Awards will go to living legend Dionne Warwick and r&b crooner Keith Sweat.

According to reports, the “That’s What Friends Are For” singer will receive the Legend Award for her longstanding success in the music industry and contribution awards show.

“Dionne Warwick’s relationship with the Soul Train brand dates all the way back to the beginning,” a press release states. “In her basement, along with Don Cornelius, the idea and concept for the Soul Train Awards was conceived. Committed to providing artists with a platform to showcase their talent, Cornelius and Warwick put together an innovative show at a time where African American artists were not widely recognized for their contributions.”

To honor the five-time Grammy Award winner, Gladys Knight, Ronald Isley, Eric Benet, Ruben Studdard, Kenny Lattimore, Bobby V and Candice Glover will take the stage for a special tribute performance.

Keith Sweat, known for starting the New Jack Swing era, will also take home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

comments – Add Yours