Leave a comment


For the first time, Detroiters chose their city council by district — seven districts and two at-large.

Brenda Jones and Saunteel Jenkins, both incumbents, won the two at-large seats.

James Tate, another council incumbent, triumphed over his competition, Wanda Hill, in District 1.

George Cushingberry, Jr. beat out Richard Bowers, Jr. in District 2, but not by the margin expected.

In District 3, Scott Benson won handily over Francine Adams.

Andre Spivey, also an incumbent, was chosen by District 4 voters, but was given a serious challenge from Bettie Scott.

In District 5, it was a tight race between Mary Sheffield and Adam Hollier, with Sheffield ultimately winning the seat.

Raquel Castaneda-Lopez triumphed over Isaac Robinson in District 6, giving the Detroit City Council its first much-needed Hispanic representation.

In District 7, Gabe Leland narrowly beat John Bennett.

Janice Winfrey will remain Detroit City Clerk, easily emerging victorious over D. Etta Wilcoxon.

In the Detroit Police Commissioner races, Willie Bell beat Henry Williams, Jr. in District 4, Willie Burton trumped Marcelus Brice in District 5, and Ricardo Moore topped Tijuana Morris in District 7.

Read more http://www.michronicleonline.com/index.php/prime-politics-original/15234-new-detroit-city-council-and-other-election-results

Also On The Chicago Defender:
Chicago is new fashion mecca for ethnic wear
34 photos
comments – add yours