Nearly 2 Dozen Candidates File for Jesse Jr.’s Seat

Comments: 0  | Leave A Comment


(AP) — Nearly two dozen candidates have filed to replace former U.S. Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. in Congress, including his one-time Democratic primary challenger former Congresswoman Debbie Halvorson.

The filing deadline with the Illinois State Board of Elections was 5 p.m. on Monday. At that time the office had 22 candidates listed on its website, including 17 Democrats and five Republicans. Jackson won re-election, but resigned Nov. 21 citing health problems and an ongoing federal investigation.

Democratic candidates include former state Rep. Robin Kelly, Chicago Alderman Anthony Beale, state Sen. Toi Hutchinson, state Sen.-elect Napoleon Harris and former U.S. Rep. Mel Reynolds. Republican candidates include conservative commentator Lenny McAllister. Here is a full list of candidates.

Leave a Comment


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103,175 other followers